Image: Pat Stevenson


A Performing Lines TAS Production

A swashbuckling First Nations comedy for all ages that sails the high seas to hide a Thylacine and strengthen the bonds between trans-Tasman spirit stories.

14-17 June 2023
Sessions during APAM Gathering: Fri 16 June at 6:00pm, Sat 17 June at 1:00pm
Venue: Arts Centre Melbourne Playhouse


After stumbling upon a lovable thylacine called Tigs, two best friends Niarra and Te Umuroa wrangle a vessel and set sail to Aotearoa to save their new friend from hunters. They face god-sized singing, dancing and wisecracking dangers along the way.

Written by Tasmanian playwright Nathan Maynard (Trawlwoolway pakana) and Aotearoa writer Jamie McCaskill (Māori), Hide the Dog is a richly realised tale. Bursting with nimble puppetry and colourful costumes, the performance takes us on the friends’ adventure via stunning scenic projections. West Australian director Isaac Drandic (Noongar) steers the ship in a true trans-Tasman First Nations collaboration—the first of its kind. It celebrates the power of friendship, the profound connections between cultures and shares a boatload of all-ages fun on the journey.


Creative Team

Co-writters: Nathan Maynard (Trawlwoolway/Pakana) & Jamie McCaskill (Ngāti Tamaterā, Te Ati Haunui a Pāpārangi, Ngā Puhi)
Director: Isaac Drandic (Noongar)
Assistant Director and pakana Cultural Advisor: Nathan Maynard (pakana)
Set Designer: Jane Hakaraia (Ngāti Raukawa ki te Tonga)
Sound Designer: Maaka McGregor (Māori)
Sound and Vocals: Katanya Maynard
Lighting Designer: Ben Hughes
AV Designer: Keith Deverell
Costume Designer: Sabio Evans
Associate Designer and Design pakana Guide: Denni Proctor (pakana)
Boat Technical Design: Greg Methe
Additional Cultural Advisor: Maakarita Paku
Former Producer: Annette Downs

Production Team

Production Manager: Simon Rush
Stage Manager: Adam (Gus) Powers
Assistant Stage Manager & Tour Manager: Sinsa Mansell
Technical Operator: Marty Shlansky
Construction Team: Sabio Evans, Jen Goodluck, Petra Lagewaard, Greg Methe, Denni Proctor, Jake Sanger, Édith la Sauvage