Local Player: Dancehouse

An introduction to the Keir Choreographic Award

Visit Dancehouse, Australia’s centre for independent contemporary dance, and meet some of the artists associated with the Award.

Now in its fourth incarnation, the Keir Choreographic Award (KCA) (known as KCA) has assumed a unique and dynamic place in the Australian dance landscape. It offers 8 artists a fully-funded opportunity to develop and present a short work within the framework of a competition ($50k cash prize) as well as an unmatched context to place their work (with)in a critical international perspective. KCA, with its competition model and associated public program is a unique signature model. It nurtures an intimate, bespoke and generative context to assemble a diverse community of artists, international guests and audiences.

The 2020 KCA artists have been selected by an international jury to present their work in Melbourne from March 3-7. The KCA public program runs from 28 February to 22 March. Visitors will have the opportunity to be introduced to this initiative, meet some of the artists associated with the award, or the public program and get a tour of the venue.

Light lunch provided.

Time 10:00 AM – 11:30 AM
Date Tuesday 25 February 2020
Venue Dancehouse


Dancehouse is the Australia’s only dance house and the premier centre for independent dance. Our role is threefold: to advance independent dance artists, to build dance audiences, and to develop the art form itself. Our many and diverse programs generate a kaleidoscope of opportunities and sit at a confluence of circulations: of makers, ideas, spaces, contexts, publics, disciplines and territories. As such, Dancehouse is a hub of knowledge and resources, a presenter of outstanding programs targeting multiple communities and a fierce advocate for the vibrancy and literacy of the Australian independent dance sector.


The Keir Choreographic Award is presented in Melbourne and Sydney by Dancehouse, Carriageworks, the Keir Foundation and the Australia Council for the Arts. The 2020 Jury is: Mette Edvarsten (NO), Serge Laurent (FR), Takao Kawaguchi (JP), Claudia La Rocco (USA), Paola Balla (AUS).